(i) The awards and recognitions received by Faculty and Students of HBNI, RRCAT

1. BEST Ph.D. THESIS AWARD

Name of Ph.D. Student: Chiranjit Debnath Thesis Supervisor: Prof. Sunil Verma

Award details: Best Ph.D. thesis award. The award carried a cash prize of Rs 5000 and a

citation.

Awarded by: Indian Laser Association

Date of Award: Dec. 6, 2022

Awarded during "31st DAE-BRNS National Laser Symposium, IIT Kharagpur, Dec. 3-6, 2022"

2. BEST Ph.D. THESIS AWARD

Name of Student: Dr. Tirtha Mandal Thesis Supervisor: Prof. Anand Moorti

Best Ph.D. Thesis Award for "Investigation on intense, ultra-short laser foil interaction

through fast electron generation, characterization and x-ray studies".

Presented by: The Indian Laser Association in the DAE-BRNS National Laser Symposium-NLS-

31 held during Dec 03-06, 2022 at IIT Kharagpur, Kharagpur.

3. BEST Ph.D. THESIS AWARD

Name of Student: Dr. Arup Ratan Jana Thesis Supervisor: Prof. Vinit Kumar

Best Thesis Prize by Indian Society for Particle Accelerators during the InPAC-2022

conference held at BARC, Mumbai during March 2022.

4. ISPA best Ph.D. thesis presentation award 2023

Name of Student: Dr Surendra Yadav Thesis Supervisor: Prof. P. V. Varde

Thesis title: "Intelligent Approach to Study Transverse Coupled Bunch Instabilities and their

Effects on Performance of Electron Synchrotron".

5. BEST POSTER AWARD

Name of Student: K. K. Malakar

Name of Thesis Supervisor: Prof. Yogesh Verma

Awarded by: Indian Laser Association in NLS-23 held at IIT Kharagpur in 2022.

Date of award: Jan. 22, 2022

Poster title: "High precision measurement of effective thermal expansion coefficients of low-coefficient of thermal expansion (CTE) materials using low-coherence interferometry", Authors: K. K. Malakar, S. Chakraborty, B. C. Pant, T. S. Reddy, Y. Verma, S. Raja S., M. Chaturvedi, Y. Verma, S. Raja S., and K.S. Bindra.

6. BEST POSTER AWARD

Name of student: Chiranjit Debnath Thesis Supervisor: Prof. Sunil Verma

Award details: Best poster award. The award carried a cash prize of Rs 2500 and a citation.

Awarded by: Indian Laser Association in NLS-23 held at IIT Kharagpur in 2022.

Date of award: Jan. 22, 2022

Poster title: Fabrication and testing of TSB/PMMA composite elements for X-ray imaging at Indus-2 Poster co-authors: Chiranjit Debnath, S. Kar, Ashish K. Agrawal, Sunil Verma, Shovan