HOMI BHABHA NATIONAL INSTITUTE

MINUTES OF 3rd BOARD OF STUDIES MEETING – HEALTH SCHENCES

Minutes of the 3rd of Board of studies HBNI meeting held at Digital Library, Tata Memorial Hospital on 19th November 2009 at 3.00 p.m.

The following committee members were present.

Prof. K.M. Mohandas	Convener
Prof. N.A. Jambhekar	Member
Prof. S.J. Bhatia	Member
Prof. A.N. Supe	Member
Prof. M.G.R. Rajan	Member
Prof. R. Sarin	Member
Prof. S.D. Banavali	Member
Prof. S.K. Shrivastava	Member
Prof. R. Sareen	Member

Prof. K.B. Sainis and Prof. H.B. Tongaonkar could not attend the meeting.

Convener informed the BOS that the Dept. of Radio-diagnosis is now recognized by MCI and the course would shift to HBNI from next academic year. .

Following items on the agenda were discussed:

1. Approval of Post graduate teachers from Tata Memorial Centre.

The BOS reviewed all the applications of faculty members.

The Committee noted that most of the guides from the Department of Radio-diagnosis were already recognized by Mumbai University or MUHS, Nashik. The application of Prof. N.H. Merchant and Dr. S.L. Juvekar were kept pending as their parent college (TNMC, Mumbai) is not yet recognized by MCI.

The Committee approved the following teachers for various courses in Health Sciences with effect from 19.11.2009:

Sr. No.	Name of the Guide	Subject	Position
1.	Prof. M.H. Thakur	MD (Radio-diagnosis)	Guide
2.	Prof. P.G. Kulkarni	MD (Radio-diagnosis)	Guide
3.	Prof. S.M. Desai	MD (Radio-diagnosis)	Guide
4.	Prof. S.K. Ramani	MD (Radio-diagnosis)	Guide
5.	Prof. Supreeta Arya	MD (Radio-diagnosis)	Guide
6.	Dr. Sarbani Ghosh Laskar	MD (Radiotherapy)	Guide
7.	Dr. R. Engineer	MD (Radiotherapy)	Guide
8.	Dr. U M Mahantshetty	MD (Radiotherapy)	Guide
9.	Dr. Tejpal Gupta	MD (Radiotherapy)	Guide
10.	Dr. Kedar K. Deodhar	MD (Pathology)	Guide
11.	Dr. Mukta Ramadwar	MD (Pathology)	Guide
12.	Dr. Bakshi Ganesh Sumitra	MD (Anaesthesiology)	Guide
13.	Dr. Sheila Nainan Myatra .	MD (Anaesthesiology)	Guide
#	Name of the teacher	Subject	Position
14.	Mr. R.A. Kinhikar	PhD (Medical Physics)	Teacher
15.	Ms. S.V. Jamema	PhD (Medical Physics)	Teacher
16.	Ms. S. Sharma	PhD (Medical Physics)	Teacher
17.	Ms. R.R. Upreti	PhD (Medical Physics)	Teacher

2. Approval of core course for PhD in Medical Physics and Epidemiology

The core course for PhD in Medical Physics and PhD in Epidemiology were approved unanimously.

Dean, TMC reminded the members that the procedures to register Ph.D. courses under HBNI. One of the pre-condition for final registration to PhD at HBNI is to pass the Core-Course conducted by the CI (TMC) with at least 55% in each module and 60% or more on aggregate.

3. Approval of Syllabus for various medical courses

The curriculum for various Medical courses prepared by the concerned departments based on the MCI, MUHS and AIIMS syllabus were approved unanimously. The subjects were:

- 1. MD, Anesthesia
- 2. MD, pathology
- 3. MD, Radiation Oncology
- 4. MD Radio-diagnosis
- 5. DM, Medical Oncology
- 6. MCh, Surgical Oncology

4. Approval of Training Logbook for various courses

The curriculum for various Medical courses prepared by the concerned departments based on the MCI recommendations were approved unanimously. The subjects were:

- 7. MD, Anesthesia
- 8. MD, pathology
- 9. MD, Radiation Oncology
- 10. MD Radio-diagnosis
- DM, Medical Oncology
- 12. MCh, Surgical Oncology

5. Arrangements for final (Theory / Practical) Diploma exams in May 2010.

The first batch of HBNI medical students will take the examinations in Diploma in Anesthesia in 2010. Convener explained that as HBNI is a decentralized university, the constituent institute (CI) has to carry out all the process involved including the selection, admission, conduct of examination and other academic matters as per the MCI guidelines. The Committee approved the following list of external examiners, two among these (one from Mumbai and one from outside Maharashtra) whom based on availability may be invited for the practical examinations of Diploma in Anesthesia to be held in May 2010.

- a. Dr. S. Pandya, HOD, GS Medical College
- b. Dr. Garasia, GS Medical College
- c. Dr. Indrani Hemantkumar, Grant Medical college
- d. Dr. Hemlata Iyer, LT Medical College
- e. Dr. Manju Gandhi, TN medical College
- f. Dr. Bhavna Soni, Surat Municipal Inst. Of Med. Sciences, Umanwada, Surat
- g. Dr. Bharati Kondvilkar, Grant Medical College, J.J. Hospital
- h. Dr. H.G. Dhorigal, Belgaum, J.N. Medical College, Belgaum
- i. Dr. Varsha Suradia, J.N. Medical College, Belgaum

Enrolment of new course in Ph.D. (Epidemiology) at TMH 14.

Convener informed the BOS that 3 students have been admitted for PhD in Epidemiology during the year 2009.

- a. Ms. Rajani Nagrani
- b. Ms. Garima Mathur
- c. Ms. Sharayu Matare

The meeting ended with a vote of thanks.

Prof. K.M. Mohandas

Prof. A.N. Supe

Prof. R. Sarin

Prof. M.G.R. Rajan

Prof. S.D. Banavali

Prof. N.A. Jambhekar

Shyeuxashi