The Beginning


The Homi Bhabha National Institute (HBNI) was established in 2005 under section 3 of the UGC Act. HBNI has the following Centres as its Constituent Institution (CI)/Off-Campus Centre (OCC): The role of HBNI is to nurture in-depth capabilities in nuclear science and engineering and to serve as a catalyst to accelerate the pace of basic research and facilitate its translation into technology development and applications through academic programs, viz., Master's and Ph.D. degrees in Engineering, Physical, Chemical, Mathematical, Life and Medical & Health Sciences while encouraging inter-disciplinary research. Additionally, academic programs in the domain of Applied Systems Analysis have also been identified to ensure the availability of adequate qualified human resources to address issues pertaining to nuclear law, the economics of nuclear power, nuclear security, nuclear proliferation, intellectual property rights etc. + HBNI has been accredited by NAAC with a score of 3.4, as a category 'A ' University in 2021. In the MHRD's National Institutional Ranking Framework (NIRF) exercise for the academic year th 2021,
HBNI received 18th rank in University category and was placed at 36 position among 1657 institutions in the overall category.
i. Bhabha Atomic Research Centre (BARC), Mumbai
ii.Indira Gandhi Centre for Atomic Research (IGCAR), Kalpakkam
iii. Raja Ramanna Centre for Advanced Technology(RRCAT), Indore
iv. Variable Energy Cyclotron Centre (VECC), Kolkata
v. Saha Institute ofNuclear Physics (SINP), Kolkata
vi Institute for Plasma Research (IPR), Gandhinagar
vii.Institute of Physics (IoP), Bhubaneswar
viii.Harish-Chandra Research Institute (HRI), Allahabad
ix. Institute of Mathematical Sciences (IMSc), Chennai
x. Tata Memorial Centre (TMC), Mumbai
xi. National Institute of Science Education and Research (NISER), Bhubaneswar (OCC)